kites and boomerangs and signs, oh my!

courtesy of zelda.wikia.com

courtesy of zelda.wikia.com

“Throw your dream into space like a kite, and you do not know what it will bring back, a new life, a new friend, a new love, or a new country.” ~ Anais Nin

I just recently came across this Anais Nin quote. It took me by surprise because for one, I am a fan of hers and I had never seen the quote before. And secondly, because whenever I am stumped about which direction to go in my life – I use the term boomerangs.

For example, when I was looking for a job in 2010, I could not decide if I should stay in Chicago, move to Mexico or somewhere else in the states. So, I left it up to my boomerangs. I applied for jobs in Chicago, Los Angeles, Miami and Mexico. I threw out the boomerangs to the universe and waited for them to return. I figured whichever boomerang returned was where I was supposed to be going. Yup that’s me…always looking for a sign.

I waited and waited. For six months I waited. No one in the states so much as called me for a phone interview. But job after job in Mexico called or emailed me with employment opportunities. So I finally said yes to the Mexico boomerang. I rented my condo, put my possessions in storage and wished my family and friends a temporary adios!

My boomerang had brought me a new life and a new country! And unknown to me at the time, but it was also going to bring me a new love and many new friends! A new exciting chapter was waiting for me! And all because I had been willing to throw out my boomerangs!

Therefore, it was interesting and surprising to me to find this quote. I guess it isn’t only me who is always looking for signs for the next step in life’s journey. And the symbolism can be a kite, a boomerang or a neon sign. All that matters is that you are looking for the signs and when they arrive you heed their message.  Whether that means you go to Mexico or you write a blog or los dos…hahaha…

2 thoughts on “kites and boomerangs and signs, oh my!

Leave a Reply

