An ode to coffee..!!

courtesy of awkwardyeti.com

courtesy of awkwardyeti.com

My love affair with coffee began when I was a little girl. I loved my mother – she was an amazing woman. And of course like most little girls, I wanted to copy her in everything that she did. Which of course included drinking coffee with her! Needless to say as a small child, I should not have been drinking coffee. So my mother doctored up my beverage with lots of warm milk. Then she would throw in bread which would soak up the soggy goodness of the sweet coffee. It was almost as good as eating a dessert..!! And so a tradition…and an addiction…were born.

courtesy of historyspaces.blogspot.com

courtesy of historyspaces.blogspot.com

The world’s tradition and addiction with coffee began, according to myth, with Kaldi. Kaldi was a 9th century goat herder. Apparently, he discovered coffee when he noticed that his goats had extra energy when they nibbled on the red cherries of a particular bush. Kaldi tried the red cherries himself and became energetic as well. His excitement led him to take the cherries to an Islamic holy man in a nearby monastery. However, the holy man disapproved of their use and threw them into a fire. From this fire, an enticing aroma emanated. The roasted cherries (beans) were raked from the embers, ground up, and dissolved in hot water. And the world’s first cup of coffee was born.

courtesy of coffeeworld.com

courtesy of coffeeworld.com

My personal addiction and the world’s collided in the form of Starbucks. I wanted to own my own coffee shop and I thought why not learn from the best. So I went to work for Starbucks Coffee Company where a career and passion were launched. Working there, I became interested in fair trade coffee and the human component involved in the coffee farms around the world. So I went back to school to get my master’s degree. My thesis was on direct trade coffee and fair trade coffee. This dream culminated in a study abroad trip to Chiapas, Mexico where I visited coffee farms and fair trade co-opertives. It was the trip of a lifetime. However, just as wanting to be with my mother led to my love affair with coffee – my passion for coffee led to my love affair with Mexico which led to this blog. So you never know which choices you make will lead you to your next dream…your next love…so drink on…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “An ode to coffee..!!

  1. Super interesting read! It’s so neat to be able to see how seemingly small things in our childhoods can grow into huge life changes.
    This also explains the name of the Kaldi coffee company 😉

    • Thank you 🙂 It’s amazing how the choices we make lead us on our journey. I love Kaldi coffee. I have been to their cafes when I was in Missouri..! Ciao..

Leave a Reply

