Pinche blog..!!

**Warning – swear word alert**

worthless fucking bastard - courtesy of tunazilla.deviantart.com

‘worthless fucking bastard’ – courtesy of tunazilla.deviantart.com

I have to admit I swear a lot. Damn has probably been one of my most favorite swear words. It fits perfectly in every occasion. Damn this…damn that…pick up the damn phone. You get the drift.

When I moved to Mexico, I learned a lot of swear words early on. People enjoyed telling them to me and hearing me parrot them back. Some sick twisted game they enjoyed playing with the new gabacha..!! Gabacha refers to an English speaking, non-Hispanic woman by the way. However, I never truly felt comfortable with any of the swear words. That is until I learned about pinche.

worthless asshole teacher - he put me as missing but I answered - courtesy of memegenerador.com

‘worthless asshole teacher – he put me as missing but I answered’ – courtesy of memegenerador.com

Technically, pinche refers to a kitchen boy. It’s the guy (or gal) who cleans up the Chef’s mess. They scrub pans and carry stuff around. Basically, a non-glorious worthless job. It’s still used in this manner in Spain. In fact, in most latin countries, it is not considered a bad word. Though it might be used to describe someone as cheap or a pest.

In Mexico, pinche is an all-purpose insult enhancer. It’s roughly equivalent to the use of *fucking* in English. However, it is also used as an adjective to describe something as insignificant, lousy, miserable or worthless. Pinche is strongly associated with cursing in Mexican Spanish. Therefore, the moment you use it, you give yourself away as a Mexican national or someone who has spent a lot of time in Mexico. See examples below…

pinche puto = worthless fuck
pinche cabron = worthless asshole/dick
pinche hombre = worthless dude/man

worthless americans - courtesy of tumblr.com

‘worthless Americans’ – courtesy of tumblr.com

Or pinche gringo – worthless American. I have to say, I use pinche so extensively that it has replaced damn in most of my swearing repertoire. My Mexican friends thought it was hysterical. I was always pinche-ing something or someone. Pinche perro. Pincho carro. Pinche trabajo. But I guess they were also laughing because of the way I said it. My American accent made them laugh hysterically. At work, everyone wanted to know what was going to set me off that day and make me use the word. Now that I am back in the states, I have been using it so much that my friends here are starting to use it. hahaha. In that spirit, I introduce it to you. I hope you enjoy my pinche blog.. ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Pinche blog..!!

  1. Reblogged this on howdoyousaytacoinspanish and commented:

    As I’m still traveling, here’s another very early original blog post.!! It’s about my favorite topic…no not food…my second favorite topic.!! Swear words..!! Please enjoy and see you for Dos Equis over the weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. My car recently spent 2 days in the shop. In my conversation with the mechanic, ‘pinche carro’ somehow found its way into the conversation…Safe travels to you!

  3. Ha ha…love the sound of it..pinche:) Swearing is what I usually learn first, when studying a foreign language. Swearing and how you order a beer. What else do you need?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Are they terminating The Most Interesting Man in the World??

    • Lol.! It does roll off the tongue nicely, doesn’t it.? And yes, swearing and ordering a beer are always the first two things I learn too ๐Ÿ™‚ As for the Dos Equis commercials – I think my blog has gone through them faster than they are making new ones.! We shall see. Thanks for stopping by.!!

Leave a Reply

