no me gustan los payasos..!!

clowns in playa del carmen courtesy of yucatanliving.com

clowns in playa del carmen courtesy of yucatanliving.com

Have I ever mentioned I hate clowns?! Well if I haven’t, I think today is a good time to talk about it, since my post is titled “I don’t like clowns”! I’m not really sure when my dislike of clowns began. I remember I loved going to the circus! But I think that’s because I loved the lions and tigers and of course all the trapeze acts! I remember when the clowns would come out I would be bored. I also remember watching The Bozo Show as a child. And I did enjoy it, but really I didn’t like Bozo the clown either. I think I enjoyed the games and the prizes you could win 🙂

bozo the clown courtesy of capitalistprofit.com

bozo the clown courtesy of capitalistprofit.com

Some of you might suggest that I dislike clowns because of Stephen King’s book, It. But again, I would have to say no not really. I’m not afraid of clowns. I just find them to be utterly annoying. I don’t understand their purpose. Ok well I do understand their purpose. They’re supposed to make people laugh or mainly kids. But I don’t find them funny. Nor do I like them thrust upon me. If I’m going to the circus, I know there will be clowns. If I am going to a children’s party, I know there will be a clown. Though I would be crossing my fingers for spiderman..!

Stephen King's It courtesy of memegenerator.co

Stephen King’s It courtesy of memegenerator.co

However, I don’t expect a clown on a bus..!! Nor do I want a clown on a bus..!! Ah, you’re thinking, we are finally getting to the crux of what clowns have to do with living in Mexico. There are sometimes clowns on buses in Playa..!! Sometimes, there are musicians which I can handle. I like music. But not clowns. There are several types of transportation in Playa del Carmen. You have taxis, the ADO bus, colectivos and regular buses. Now, the clowns don’t get in taxis with you. They also do not get on the smaller colectivos because there is no room. And the ADO bus will make them pay. However, the regular bus is only 5 pesos and it is large enough for them to get on and annoy me.!

bus playa del carmen courtesy of raouldeboer.com

bus playa del carmen courtesy of raouldeboer.com

And annoy me they did.! Sometimes only one clown got on the bus, but usually there were two. They would pay to get on the bus and then they would make jokes the whole time. Now most people on the bus are hardworking people on their way home, to work or the store. The bus is not the most comfortable transportation in Playa but it is the least expensive and therefore the most popular. People are usually tired. Maybe the clowns thought they were doing us all a favor by brightening up our day. And some people did laugh. Though not me because in the beginning, my Spanish was limited. And in general, I don’t like clowns.

playa clown courtesy of funfoil.com

playa clown courtesy of funfoil.com

But what really annoyed me about these clowns was that they would then ask for money. They would take off their hats or hold up a bag and expect us to pay them.! What?!? Que malo..!! Ummm…first off I didn’t ask for this entertainment nor would I ever. But just because we on the bus were their captive audience, they expected a payment or donation. Now don’t get me wrong, the musicians also asked for money. But they played lovely songs and they took requests..! In the beginning, I would politely demure and say something like “No, gracias. Muy amable.” My standard line to trinket sellers everywhere – “No thanks. Very kind of you.”

what I would do to clowns courtesy of tripwow.tripadvisor.com

what I would do to clowns courtesy of tripwow.tripadvisor.com

However, one day on the bus I had had enough. I’m not sure why I was in a cranky mood. Maybe I was tired, maybe it was raining. All I know is that I was coming home from work and I just wanted some peace. The payaso got on the bus alone at Constituyentes. He started his normal routine of jokes and then decided to focus in on me. But I didn’t feel like playing and I apparently didn’t feel like being passive. So I looked him directly in the eyes and said in my best Spanish – No me gustan los payasos. Aléjate de mí..!!” Which basically means – I don’t like clowns. Get away from me..!!

Well the clown looked shocked and the entire bus exploded into laughter! Of course, the clown continued to make fun of me to the rest of the bus but not bother me directly. But I still felt victorious because he left me alone forever after that. Sometimes he wouldn’t even get on the bus if he saw me sitting on it. But also, I had gotten a far larger chuckle from his audience than he ever had. Take that pinche payaso..!!

Leave a Reply

