blame it on the Kahlúa…

courtesy of kahlua.com

courtesy of kahlua.com

Everyone always asks me – “Why did you go to Mexico?” or sometimes just simply, “Why Mexico?” I give them my standard answer – it’s pretty much my blurb on the About page – I worked for Starbucks for 12 years then I got a degree, my thesis is on fair trade coffee….blah blah blah. I can see I’ve already lost them. Their eyes glaze over and they just nod politely. So I’ve decided that I am going to start telling everyone a different story. It’s my mother’s fault.

courtesy of kahlua.com

courtesy of kahlua.com

Ah, I see. I have your attention already. Good 🙂 My mother passed away a few years ago, but I swear if she were alive today, she would testify to the veracity of my story. And probably giggle too.! My mother was very young when she got married and she had me at the tender age of twenty. I was her firstborn. She went on to have my sister and twin brothers. Now here is where the strange part comes in – my mother never drank.! Never ever! Except when she was pregnant with me.! She didn’t drink before she was pregnant with me and she never drank after she was pregnant with me.! Just with me.!

courtesy of kahlua.com

courtesy of kahlua.com

And she drank Kahlúa of all things.! Now for those of you who don’t know – Kahlúa is a Mexican coffee-flavored rum liqueur. It is sweet and creamy and tastes like coffee because it is made with 100% Arabica coffee and sugarcane from Veracruz, Mexico. Kahlúa means “House of the Acolhua people” in the Veracruz Nahuatl language which was spoken before the Spanish Conquest. It also contains sugar, corn syrup, and vanilla bean. You can drink it over ice or use it in mixed drinks such as mudslides and white russians.

courtesy of kahlua.com

courtesy of kahlua.com

Now I am not suggesting my mother was a lush. On the contrary, she was an extreme teetotaler.! But I guess she had some discomforts when she was pregnant with me and Kahlúa was the recommended remedy. So I find it interesting that I went on to not just love coffee but worship it.! That I fell in love with Mexico and had to go live there. But also that rum makes me do crazy things, so I avoid it like the plague. No need to bore you with those details 😉 When my sister was pregnant with her son – she craved chocolate cake. And my nephew loves, I mean loves, chocolate cake..!! So I don’t think it’s a coincidence that my mom drank Kahlúa when she was pregnant with me and I went on to love all those components of the drink itself.!

Que raro, no?! So the next time someone asks me why I moved to Mexico – I am seriously going to say – “Blame it on the Kahlúa” – and try to keep a straight face at the same time. I leave you with a Kahlúa commercial. Enjoy.!

11 thoughts on “blame it on the Kahlúa…

  1. Reblogged this on howdoyousaytacoinspanish and commented:

    It’s my mother’s birthday this weekend which of course is bittersweet. But this weekend it takes on extra poignancy because the following week will be 10 years since she passed on. Not a day goes by that I don’t think about her or wish I could call her. She was not just my mom…she was my best friend. So, in that spirit, I would like to revisit the Kahlua blog post because it’s about my mom. And she would have enjoyed it because she had a wicked sense of humor.!! jaja… Salud.! Y mama, feliz cumpleaños.!

Leave a Reply

