o rico.!!

courtesy of twitter.com

courtesy of twitter.com

Since my return from Mexico, I have been a bit wistful. I want to share my visit with you.! But…. I am still processing my feelings from the trip. The visit was great.! However, I am trying to wrap my mind around the fact that I don’t live in Playa del Carmen anymore. I live in Chicago. And living in Chicago has been further validated because I started my new job this week. A real full-fledged job which has also taken up a quite a bit of my time.

It’s funny though, after only three days of work, my team already knows that I lived in Mexico. And they have already surmised that I would rather be there then here. Apparently, I do not have a poker face whatsoever.!! hahaha… On a side note, I stopped by my former hotel in the Riviera Maya. And was overjoyed to hear that I was welcome back to my old position whenever I wanted. In that moment, even.! I respectfully declined because I have obligations I must attend to in Chicago which is why I had moved back in the first place. But it was nice to know I could always return to Mexico 🙂

courtesy of en.wikipedia.org

courtesy of en.wikipedia.org

So, in order to cheer me up, I think today I will share a linguistic quirk and a funny story with you.!! All names have been changed to protect the innocent and the not so innocent.!!

The word rico in Spanish has many definitions. For starters, it can mean rich. As in, el es rico.! Or, he is rich. It can also translate to someone who is suave with the ladies. For example, Juan es bueno con las mujeres – el es rico suave.! Or, Juan is good with the ladies – he is a ladies man.! Rico can also mean delicious. As in, el pastel es muy rico.!! In English, the cake is very rich/delicious.!! Or in a restaurant, you can always tell the chef, his food is muy rico or que rico.!

courtesy of commons.wikimedia.org

courtesy of commons.wikimedia.org

Now there is one more important way to use the word rico.! But I insist, a story first. My friend, Bubba (not his real name), is an American living in Mexico. He understands a little bit of Spanish, but he doesn’t really speak Spanish. But that didn’t stop him from flirting with Mexican women and eventually getting a Mexican girlfriend. A girlfriend, I might add, who did not speak English. Most of their dialogue involved translating assistance from other people, miming, and body language.

So, the night my friend Bubba and his girlfriend had their first intimate experience, I get a frantic call from him. He tells me what just happened minus a lot of details (thank you very much.!). But the reason he is calling me is not to tell me about the experience. Bubba is upset because his girlfriend kept calling him, yes you guessed it, “Rico“.!! He thought she already knew his name even though she usually called him amor or papi. And Bubba wanted someone to get on the phone and make sure she knew his name was Bubba and not Rico.!!

courtesy of genteflow.com

courtesy of genteflow.com

Have I mentioned that at this point, I am laughing so hard, I am crying.!! Bubba, of course, does not see the humor in any part of his story. So I inform him, that rico or o rico or ay que rico are all exclamations used during lovemaking to denote the act itself is rich, delicious, sexy, enjoyable.!!

jajaja….I’m still laughing, but there is deafening silence on the other end of the phone line. Then Bubba says to me, “So that means she liked it?!” And I say, “Yes, it would appear so”. From Bubba, “Ok thanks, gotta go, bye.!” jajajaja… Ay que rico mi historia.!!! Nos vemos mañana.!

5 thoughts on “o rico.!!

  1. I was seriously laughing out loud at work! I actually have a Spanish friend who’s name is Rico!
    I’m sorry to hear you’re not living in Mexico anymore, I know how much you love that land. Chicago is not that bad though 🙂 I’ll be there for Thanksgiving – can’t wait! I don’t know how I’m gonna survive… yesterday in LA were 50F and I was shaking!! My body got used to the warmth very quick!

    • I am so glad you enjoyed it.!! I was seriously laughing when he told me the story.!! jaja… I actually once dated a boy named Rico, but that was a long time ago. Chicago is not that bad except for the weather. It was 60 degrees the other day and I complained the whole day. What am I gonna do when it falls below 60?!

      It is amazing how quickly you get used to warm weather.!! That’s exciting that you will be in Chicago for Thanksgiving. The city is very pretty during that time of the year albiet a little cold.!! But I’m sure you will have fun 😀

  2. Reblogged this on howdoyousaytacoinspanish and commented:

    Dear readers and fellow bloggers.! I am having one of those weeks where I don’t know whether I am coming or going.! Please accept this reblog from a few months ago. I promise to have something fresh for you tomorrow plus the new commerical entre for the weekend.!! See you tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

