que milagro dos..!!

P. and me at Starbucks

P. and me at Starbucks

I had several errands to take care of during my visit to Mexico. Plus visiting with my friends was a huge priority 🙂 Last we spoke, P. and I had a great time at Zenzi drinking micheladas and catching up. The next morning we met at Starbucks for coffee (see photo above). We look extremely happy but most definitely like two women who had a few micheladas the night before.!! But oh what fun.!!

After coffee, P. and I spent most of the day meeting with attorneys. She was there to assist me in case I needed translation help. I know what you are thinking at this point – why in the world would you need an attorney Rose.?? Well, this time, it wasn’t for my immigration visa. It was for a wayward roommate. I promise to tell all in my blog post next week called – strange bedfellows.!! But for now, let’s just say, P. and I spent a whole day listening to one attorney after another talk about the ramifications of my case. Can you say me duele mi cabeza.!!

courtesy of condohotelsplayadelcarmen.com

courtesy of condohotelsplayadelcarmen.com

So the next day when I woke up, I decided a trip to Cozumel was in order to reground my center. Plus I wanted to see my good friend Bubba – you know him from the blog post o rico..!! However, the ferry schedule had changed since I was last in Playa so I had a whole hour and a half to kill before the ferry departed. Hmmmmm….so what’s a girl to do..??? Well get a massage of course.!!

One of the many things I loved about living in Playa del Carmen was how inexpensive it was to get a massage. One hour massages range anywhere from $20 USD to $40 USD per hour.!! Yes, I typed that right and you read it correctly.!! In Chicago, a decent one hour massage will empty your wallet anywhere from $80 to $110.!! So, since I am kinda addicted to massages, you can see why I loved living in Playa 🙂 So that’s what I did – on the beach for one hour.!! Can we say glorious.?!! After that I was woozy in all the right places and relaxed everywhere else. Plus, more importantly, I was calmer.

sunrise over cozumel

sunrise over cozumel

After my amazing massage, I set off on the ferry to Cozumel. I love being on the water and in the water. Even being on the ferry surrounded by strangers gives me a feeling of peace. I usually read or daydream. However, there is just one problem with my way of thinking. Not everyone feels this way about being on the water. And the ferry to Cozumel happens to be one of the most harrowing sea journeys ever.!! Yes, you read that right.! Yes, I know it’s only a 45 minute trip. Yes, I know it’s between a barrier island and the mainland. But trust me when I say more vomit bags are given out on that trip than any other boat excursion I have endured.

I don’t know if it’s the type of ferry that is used that causes all the egregious rocking back and forth.?! I don’t know if it’s all the drinking that the tourists partake in that causes all the heaving.!? Or a combination of both, but there is much nausea experienced on that ferry ride. I learned quickly to sit on the main floor in the middle of the boat. It rocks the least for starters. And secondly, all the people who tend to vomit usually sit upstairs or outside. And while, I do not get motion sickness, I will puke at the sight, smell, or sound of others vomiting. It’s like yawning for me.!! So I need to be awaaaayy from all of that noise.!!

courtesy of tripadvisor.ca

courtesy of tripadvisor.ca

Needless, to say, the peace I long for on the ferry doesn’t last very long. Luckily for me, neither does the trip.!! My friend Bubba met me at the ferry terminal and we took a taxi to his old apartment. He had to meet the landlord to do a walk through, so I accompanied him on his errand. Then we went to my favorite place to eat on the island – Indio’s – and we had some dinner. Afterwards, we went to El Coffee Cozumel for pecan pie and coffee..!! Bubba’s lovely girlfriend met us there and we talked so much and laughed so much we kept interrupting each other – it was pretty funny.! And cool.!

Around 8:30pm, we made our way back to the ferry terminal because the last one leaves at 9pm. If you miss it, you are stuck on the island until the morning. I bid them both adios because I wasn’t sure when I would make it back to see them. Then I boarded the ferry for the journey back to Playa secretly hoping that the barfing would be down to a minimum.! Luckily, it was pretty peaceful on the nighttime sojourn back. In fact, I was in such a good and peaceful place when I debarked the ferry that I decided to walk down Quinta Avenida to my hotel room rather than grab a cab. It was a lovely way to end my evening. Que milagro tres to follow….

2 thoughts on “que milagro dos..!!

Leave a Reply

