Tecate take 30

courtesy of tecate.com.mx

courtesy of tecate.com.mx

Happy weekend everyone.!! Feliz el fin de semana todos.!! I hope I am catching everyone in good spirits during this middle of the weekend blog post shout-out. I hope your weekend has been and will continue to be full of festivities and/or relaxation. And of course, filled with family, friends, and camraderie.!!

I had a lovely evening last night celebrating my father’s birthday with my brother and sister.! We had a great dinner, some wine, and a nice stroll down memory lane. Of course, my mom and my other brother came up in conversation as we laughed over some beautiful and some funny memories.! We talked about how my father dropped off my brothers’ for their first day of kindergarten. He thought all was well, until one of my brother’s just picked up and ran away from class. To this day, we still have no idea why, except he always had an excessive amount of energy and did not like to be tied down to anything.!!

We also reminisced about how our mother secretly let us keep pets from my dad.! Like the time we kept a kitten in the garage.! We weren’t allowed to have cats or dogs growing up, but my dad was always bringing home wild rabbits and turtles for us to keep as pets.!! I have no earthly explanation for that either.! And apparently beyond the fact they were cool and wild and my dad caught them himself rather than going to a pet store – he has no earthly explanation either.!! hahahaha… I also got lambasted once again for apparently losing/killing the family newt, Cujo, when everyone but me went on vacation one summer.! To this day, I still swear I did not lose or kill him. I have no idea what happened to him.! hahaha…no really…I don’t.!

All in all, it was a lovely evening celebrating my dad’s birthday and remembering my mother and my brother on Dia de los Muertos. Interestingly enough, I have spent a lot of time recently connecting with friends from my past. I believe I mentioned that in another blog post. I find it interesting because it happens to come at a major transition in my life. I am struggling to discover my new path. And as so many recent events and friendships have come to a close, so many new ones are opening up and some much older ones are re-opening up. Life is a mystery I am always trying to understand.

But I will leave the philosophy to the masters. Today, I will regale you with a Tecate oldie. It is a Tecate commerical from the 1980s. Unfortunately, it does not have the witty humour of the recent Tecate commercials. However, I enjoyed it because it highlights the freedom and naiveness of that time period. Plus, the haircuts and the fashion are to die for.!! jaja 🙂 Enjoy your weekend.! Don’t forget the past. But enjoy the present. Y Salud..!!

Leave a Reply

