que milagro cuatro..!!

fundadores or founders

fundadores or founders

And so here we are….recollecting my last day in Playa. I woke up that next to last morning reflecting on all that I had seen and done. As well as, remembering the friends whose company I had enjoyed.! As usual, I stopped by my neighborhood Starbucks for coffee. I said goodbye to all the baristas who would not be there the next day when I departed for the airport. We wished each other well on our life’s journey and promised to continue communicating on facebook.! I have always loved this Starbucks. For many, many months, it was my safety zone if I was ever alone or sad. Moreover, it was the place I also met with friends for companionship and people watching.!!

starbucks on quinta

starbucks on quinta

After breakfast, I walked down Quinta to Calle 4. Then, I made my up to 15 Avenida to catch a bus to my former hotel. El Dorado Royale is located north of Playa del Carmen. It is almost right smack in the middle of Playa del Carmen and Cancun near Puerto Morelos. The bus dropped me off right in front of the hotel. It is about a 20 minute walk down the main road to the hotel. Since, I was feeling lazy, I caught a taxi on the other side of the highway to drive me into the hotel.!

El Dorado Royale lobby

El Dorado Royale lobby

At the main entrance, security stopped us and asked me for my room number.! I started laughing and said to Gabriel, “¿No te acuerdas de mí? Rosa el concierge?!” At which point, he exclaimed, “Ah si, recuerdo, recuerdo. ¡Adelante!” When I exited the taxi, I went straight to Gazebo 4. I was looking for one of my very good friends, J.!! And lo and behold, when I entered the gazebo – there he was.!! And yes you guessed it, he said, “Que milagro Rosa..!! Es tan bueno verte.!” And yes, it was good to see him too. I sat in the gazebo with him for almost an hour just catching up on the latest news. My timing once again could not have been more perfect.! He was leaving that day for Mexico City with his family to baptize his daughter.!!

co-workers courtesy of R.C.

co-workers courtesy of R.C.

After our chitchat, I went to human resources which was one of the main purposes of my trip. Due to my father’s illness, I had left in such a hurry. I had not had time to return my uniforms and take care of my paperwork. So I stopped at the office and returned my skirts, my blouses, and my scarves. I also signed off on my contract that I was officially leaving the position. Funny enough, the human resources director asked me if I was interested in having my old job back.!! Wow, was I interested.! But I couldn’t take it. At least not right now. I thanked her and politely declined. But I also took her business card and told her when I returned I would look her up. Hey, you never know.?! This winter, I may decide to escape.!!

me and my co-workers

me and my co-workers

Afterwards, I stopped at Gazebo 6 to visit with A. and M. I got two more “Que milagros.!” And just as with Gabriel at security and J., they initally thought I was a huespede or guest.!! jaja.. I spent some time reminiscing with them as well – trading stories about who was gone, who was still there, and who had gotten promoted. Besides, hearing ‘que milagro’ everywhere I went, my friends made me laugh with other commentaries. Being seen as a guest or tourist for one made me crack up. I worked really hard to be a local.! Being told by one friend that “I was really white.!”, really put me in stitches. My light brown perpetual tan was almost gone now that I was living in the Windy City.!!! How sad 😦

courtesy of tripadvisor.com

courtesy of tripadvisor.com

Finished with my visits and errands at Royale, I said my goodbyes and left. I caught the bus back into Playa because I had dinner plans with M. and P. I went to my room and quickly changed. I met P. near the tequila store and we had one or two more free shots. Then we met up with M. at Mom’s Restaurant and Bar. Mom’s is the restaurant expats go to when they cannot eat anymore Mexican food.! They have meatloaf, pork chops, burgers, etc. The night I went, I had the ribs.! Yummy.! Of course at dinner, both M. and P. grilled me about when I was returning. As I have obligations in the states to deal with, I told them as soon as I satisfactorily took care of those issues, I would return. M. wants to meet me in Texas and then we would drive down together. As I said, all is still up in the air. But one can dream 🙂

amanecer - dawn

amanecer – dawn

As dinner and conversations came to a close, I wished both M. and P. a good night. I stopped at C.’s house for one quick last minute goodbye convo and to see her crowns. Then I took one final stroll down Quinta and went to my hotel room to pack and get some sleep. In the morning, I said my final goodbyes at Starbucks and took a taxi to the airport. As I mentioned in my first blog post about my return trip, it had rained three weeks straight prior to my arrival. And during my entire visit, there was not one drop of rain. As I rode to the airport, the heavens opened up and unleashed a downpour. And I cried too as I said “hasta luego mi playita.”

Leave a Reply

