viernes negro

courtesy of tallon4.com

courtesy of tallon4.com

I hope everyone who celebrates Thanksgiving had a wonderful holiday with their loved ones.!! I know I did..!! I hope it was complete with turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, and cranberries 🙂 This year, I did not make my traditional pumpkin pie. But don’t cry for me, I had some delicious pecan pie with whip cream instead.!! Yummy.!!

And as I sit here this evening enjoying leftovers, I started thinking about all the lovely characteristics that make America umm American. There’s the usual, such as baseball and apple pie, and then there’s the specifics, like New York’s Fifth Avenue, Los Angeles’ boardwalk and Chicago’s deep dish pizza.! But there is also the American ideas and consumer goods that we export around the world like democracy, Coca-Cola, Levi’s jeans, Hollwood movies, and Black Friday.!

“ummm….wait a minute Rose…did you say Black Friday?” Yes, dear reader, yes I did.!! In Mexico, there is an exported American holiday similar to Black Friday, but it’s not called ‘viernes negro’ as you might imagine. It’s actually called “El Buen Fin” or the good weekend. The holiday was created in 2011 in order to spur Mexican domestic retail consumption by emulating the Black Friday shopping phenomenon in the states.! Crazy, no….???!!!

courtesy of metroscubicos.com

courtesy of metroscubicos.com

El Buen Fin is considered a local holiday that commemorates the Mexican revolution. The original idea for the nationwide promotions was to encourage consumers to change their shopping habits and spread out their holiday spending. Thereby bolstering November retail sales and in turn driving economic growth in Mexico.! The four day holiday is held on the third weekend of November, unlike Thanksgiving and Black Friday which occur on the fourth Thursday and Friday of November. This year, El Buen Fin stretched from Friday, November 15th, until Monday, November 18th.

Typically, retailers offer discounts of as much as 70% on a variety of goods, from home appliances to automobiles, while also extending store hours. Publicly traded retailers such as Wal-Mart de Mexico, Organizacion Soriana, Comercial Mexicana, and Grupo Comercial Chedraui usually participate by reducing prices on non-food and big ticket items. It’s a great time to buy a television, just like in the states..!! Also, banks such as Grupo Financiero Banorte get involved by offering their customers several months without interest payments for weekend purchases made with credit cards.! How American is that.?!! Pretty American I’d say.! jajaja….

I remember the first year I lived in Mexico and saw the commercials for El Buen Fin I was gobsmacked.!! I felt like I was back home in the states rather than living in a foreign country.! It was then that I realized, life just keeps proving to me how small the world keeps on becoming. On the one hand, I enjoy the similarities because they provide comfort and camraderie. On the other hand, I worry that one day there will be no more differences to behold between us, no more adventure to be had by us, and no more excitement to wake us up from our doldrums.! And that I hope never happens.! Because to me it is the richness and depth in our diversity that makes this living worth living.! And for that I am grateful 🙂

3 thoughts on “viernes negro

  1. Reblogged this on howdoyousaytacoinspanish and commented:

    I hope everyone had a delightful Thanksgiving.!! Today, I’m hanging out and relaxing (ok I worked out too.!). No Black Friday shopping for me today. But would you be surprised to know that Black Friday shopping happens in Mexico too.!! Here’s my post from last year to bring you up to speed.! Have a glorious weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

