who needs an easy-bake oven..??

easy-bake oven courtesy of poprewind.com

easy-bake oven courtesy of poprewind.com

When I was a little girl, my parents bought me an Easy-Bake Oven. I thought it was the coolest gift ever. My mother was such a fantastic cook, but she never let us in the kitchen except to eat.! haha… Ok, I’m kidding, sometimes she let us snap green beans or use the mixer to mix the cake batter.!! But the Easy-Bake Oven was all mine. And I created many a chocolate brownie for me and my friends to enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

courtesy of playa.info

hot plate courtesy of playa.info

I have to admit that during my time in Mexico, I would have loved to still possess an Easy-Bake Oven.!! Most apartments in Playa del Carmen do not have a conventional oven or stove.! They typically only have a hot plate or double burner.!! As a girl who loves to cook, this proved problematic. I had to figure out what to cook only using the top part of a stove. I became very adept at making grilled cheese sandwiches, pasta, fish, and lots of chicken breasts.!! But, of course, that ruled out birthday cakes, brownies, cookies, turkeys, whole chickens. If we needed to bake a birthday cake, my roommate and I would go to one of our friends’ houses who had an oven. Typically, the newer housing units outside of Playa del Carmen proper had ovens.

me cutting the thanksgiving turkey in playa

me cutting the thanksgiving turkey in playa

Toward the end of my stay in playa, I rented a lovely condo unit which did have an oven. It was fantastic.!! I was able to host Thanksgiving and Christmas that year and cook my wonderful turkey for both occasions complete with stuffing and potatoes.!! One of my friends even came over to my house to bake a cake for her boyfriend while I lived there.! It was nice to be on the other side of the mix at last. Living in Mexico opened up my eyes to the very disparate ways different cultures operate in terms of housing, appliances, and even hot water as a necessity or not.! Since, I’ve returned to the states, I have never again taken an oven for granted. Now if I could only get my hands on a microwave my apartment here would be complete ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “who needs an easy-bake oven..??

  1. I am indebted to my Mom for teaching me how to cook. When I moved out on my own she gave me a binder with hand written family favorite recipes (she has amazing penmanship) that I still use to this day. When I have friends over for a fried chicken dinner, they are amazed that I know how to make Southern gravy from scratch…not bad for a kid who grew up in California.

    • That’s fantastic.!! My mom left us a book of recipes too but her penmanship leaves a lot to the imagination. Besides, she never cooked by scientific detail such as “a cup this this” and “1/4 teaspoon of that”.! It was more like some of this, a little of that, and voila.!! She was more of an artist in the kitchen ๐Ÿ™‚

      • That sounds just like my mom! The “recipes” are more of a guide than a scientific formula. She is able to turn leftovers into amazing casseroles. Very seldom do I use a measuring spoon when seasoning food…I guess it is in the genes.

    • And some fridges that felt like I was in a college dorm room.!! I once had a kitchen where everything was half the size of a normal kitchen. I felt like I was playing house in one of those plastic kid toy houses.!! Ah the joys of apartment living ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

