desperately seeking warmth….

punta venado, playa del carmen

punta venado, playa del carmen

Chicago Tribune
Staff report
7:43 a.m. CDT, April 30, 2014

“Chicago has seen six straight months of below normal temperatures, and the beginning of May will not disappoint.”

I have to admit dear readers and fellow bloggers, I’m despondent. The weather here in Chicago is making me feel trapped, isolated, and restless. Hence, my inability to publish one blog post or even reblog last week.!! Deep sigh….

I long to go for leisurely walks along the water. I dream of sitting outside with a tasty beverage and great conversation. I yearn to expose my bare skin – shoulders, toes, the small of my back – to the elements.!

But alas, I am still bundled up. Chicago is still bundled up. And so we both saunter with an air of melancholy through the day straining for freedom. Freedom from the oppressive cold. Freedom from home captivity. Freedom from these dangnabit layers of clothing.!!

When I close my eyes at night, I fantasize about playa. The warm ocean breezes, the happy voices of people greeting each other, and the blue sky (always the sky) keep me sane.

But then I wake up… And I find myself still here in this grey, cold existence. And all I can think of is “no me gusta” and “how much does a plane ticket cost.?” Another deep sigh…

6 thoughts on “desperately seeking warmth….

  1. Rose,
    It is too hot here. The thermometer is pointing at 90°. Too hot for Maggie to venture out for a walk (I stop work outside at 85°). We are inside waiting for it to cool down. Somehow we need to mix the two for that perfect temperature of about 75°.
    Patrick

    • Patrick.! I completely agree with you.!! It’s been raining all week which just makes everything seem cold down to your bone. And tomorrow May 1st, it will be 40 degrees.! That’s 10 to 15 degrees below ‘normal’ temperatures. Geesh…. I love the sound of 75 degrees 😀

  2. Here in Ireland, it’s FINALLY around 55 during the height of the day. It even hit 60 one day last week!! Irish people are so funny when the weather gets warm. They bring out the sandals, shorts, tanks, and pale pale skin. I long for my Georgian springs with temps sitting in the low 80s and no humidity just yet… Oh to be home in the warmth. Until then, my Southern self will just have to cope with Irish weather.

    • It’s like that in Chicago too.!! The moment it turns 50 degrees, everyone brings out the shorts and sandals.!! lol…

      I spent two summers in Dublin for school and I remember I had to purchase a coat because I was so cold.!! When I returned to Chicago, I felt like I had completely missed summer. I sympathize.! Good luck staying warm – just keep visualizing that southern weather 🙂

Leave a Reply

