Do you speak Spanglish?

Please check out this blog post from the Friendly Spanish Blog.!! This particular post resonates with me deeply because I’ve been doing it for years and I had no idea there was a name for it.!!! It’s called code switching and happens when a bilingual person switches between two languages in the same conversation.! Since Croatian is my first language, I have been doing this for years with other Croatian-Americans switching back and forth between Croatian and English. Sometimes I would switch because I was lazy and didn’t know the word. But oftentimes, I would switch because one language had a word or phrase that better expressed what I was trying to convey.

Strangely enough, I did this in Mexico too.!! Everytime, I learned a new word or phrase in Spanish, I would incorporate it into my daily existence mixed with English. Sometimes, people would make fun of me, but it turns out it’s the best way to learn a language and have it stick.!! While working in Mexico, I met a Mexican girl who spoke English and was dating a Serbian boy so she spoke Serbo-Croatian.!! Talk about code switching in three different languages.!!! I was in heaven 🙂 Enjoy the post.!!

Friendly Spanish Blog

The USA is frequently cited as the world’s great ‘melting pot’, having welcomed an unmatched diversity of immigrant communities over the last few centuries. The contemporary patterns of immigration are thoroughly dominated by the Hispanic or Latino communities, which constitute the fastest growing ethnic group in the states, steadily approaching 20% of the population. These groups are especially concentrated in Southern California, Florida, Texas, New Mexico, and major cities all over America. Within this huge community there is a complex range of nationalities, races and cultures. Mexicans make up 34.5 million alone, but Cubans, Puerto Ricans, Salvadorans, Dominicans and Guatemalans all count at least one million. Obviously, the key unifying factor here is the Spanish language, which not only exerts a powerful linguistic presence in its own right, but has also intermingled with English to create a fascinating and dynamic phenomenon: Spanglish.

Spanglish in action Spanglish in action. Source: languagetrainers.co.uk

One characteristic…

View original post 503 more words

6 thoughts on “Do you speak Spanglish?

Leave a Reply

