a little bit of Tina, Sandra, and Jessica too….

courtesy of my friend H.V.D

courtesy of my friend H.V.D

The above restaurant sign translates into English in the following manner –

“Bring to breakfast your girlfriend, wife, or lover. But if you bring all three together, then your consumption is free.” Taquiera Nahum is the name of the restaurant.

I got give them credit.! That’s pretty ballsy.!! And unfortunately not that far off the mark from the experiences I had in Mexico. I won’t generalize here, I am positive that there are men who are in monogamous relationships in Mexico (and everywhere else). But my experiences living there constantly brought this infidelity issue to the forefront.

I remember one time when I was working at the hotel, I took a couple on a tour. While they were having breakfast at the buffet, one of the many waiters I knew there was talking to me. Well really he was flirting with me.! During the course of our conversation, he asked me out on a date.

To which I queried, “Don’t you have a wife?”
And he replied, “Si, tengo una esposa, una novia, una amante, y una querida.!” Translation, “I have a wife, a girlfriend, a lover, and a sweetheart.”
To which I further questioned, “And so what would I be.?”
Without skipping a beat, he responded, “Mi amor” or “my love”. Silly me, how did I not know that.!?! jajaja….

Naturally, I declined. Good-naturedly, of course, but I still declined. It seemed a little too crowded in his enclave. And where does he get the time.? And the energy.? But that’s for another blog post or blog.! lol. Today, I leave you with Lou Bega’s “Mambo Number 5.” Enjoy your weekend 🙂

2 thoughts on “a little bit of Tina, Sandra, and Jessica too….

  1. What a player! First time I ran into that kind of culture was in Turkey (of all places). I could never keep track of my husband’s colleagues’ wives/lovers/girlfriends, but a good rule of thumb was: older than 30: probably wife, young enough to be their daughters: mistress 🙂

Leave a Reply

