blame it on the Kahlúa…

It’s my mother’s birthday this weekend which of course is bittersweet. But this weekend, it takes on extra poignancy because the following week will be 10 years since she passed on. Not a day goes by that I don’t think about her or wish I could call her. She was not just my mom…she was my best friend. So, in that spirit, I would like to revisit the Kahlúa blog post because it’s about my mom. And she would have enjoyed it because she had a wicked sense of humor.!! jaja… Salud.! Y mama, feliz cumpleaños.!

howdoyousaytacoinspanish

courtesy of kahlua.com courtesy of kahlua.com

Everyone always asks me – “Why did you go to Mexico?” or sometimes just simply, “Why Mexico?” I give them my standard answer – it’s pretty much my blurb on the About page – I worked for Starbucks for 12 years then I got a degree, my thesis is on fair trade coffee….blah blah blah. I can see I’ve already lost them. Their eyes glaze over and they just nod politely. So I’ve decided that I am going to start telling everyone a different story. It’s my mother’s fault.

courtesy of kahlua.com courtesy of kahlua.com

Ah, I see. I have your attention already. Good 🙂 My mother passed away a few years ago, but I swear if she were alive today, she would testify to the veracity of my story. And probably giggle too.! My mother was very young when she got married and she had me at the tender…

View original post 353 more words

6 thoughts on “blame it on the Kahlúa…

Leave a Reply

