nombre de mi madre

Yesterday was the 10 year anniversary of my mother’s passing. With her birthday the other week and this milestone anniversary, she has been on my mind frequently. In her memory, I thought I would revisit this blog post from last year. Enjoy.!

howdoyousaytacoinspanish

my mom and dad - one of their last photos my mom and dad – one of their last photos

It was my mother’s birthday the other day. She would have been 67 years old. And of course, Thanksgiving is around the corner. This time of year, I find myself thinking about her on a fairly regular basis. But it is no longer in sadness that I think about her. I am now able to remember all the good memories and enjoy the remembering. I believe Mexico helped me a lot with that. I know what you are thinking, “Rose, how could a whole country heal you?” Well let me share….

When my mother was pregnant with me, my parents decided on baby names. If I was a boy, I would have taken my grandfather’s name, Tom, or Tomislav. If I was a girl, my name was going to be Maryann or Mariana because my mother really liked that…

View original post 536 more words

4 thoughts on “nombre de mi madre

    • Thank you – my mother was a very lovely and interesting woman 🙂 How funny about you being a Mariano – so is my brother and my grandfather.!! Small, small world….

  1. What a beautiful story and tribute to your mother. I love that they use both last names in Mexico… much more appropriate to the true being of the child. Very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

