home sweet home…

courtesy of peloruslearning.com

courtesy of peloruslearning.com

What exactly does home mean.? Does it mean the place you currently live.? The place you were born in.? Or the place that fires your heart from within.?? I have to say for me the answer is…complicated. When I was in Playa del Carmen – I loved it.!! Except the part about not making and saving enough money. But now that I’m in Chicago, I miss Playa. All of it’s sights and sounds and smells.

Nico Wilmes, a friend of one of my Dutch pals in Playa, put together a fast moving clip about life in Playa.! It brought back so many memories.! I have walked many of those same beaches.! I have walked Quinta Avenida.!! I have dodged the tourists around Coco Bongo.!! jajaja… I could almost feel the magic of being there again πŸ™‚

A good friend of mine recently asked me when was I returning home (meaning to Playa) and I told her I didn’t know. Because in truth, I don’t really know. But Playa will always be my home away from home. And it will always take up sacred space in my heart. Siempre en mi corazΓ³n ❀ Please enjoy the video.!! And your weekend πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “home sweet home…

  1. I don’t know kiddo! Seems a little fast paced for me lol. But honey, home, that is easy, it’s wherever you hang your hat for however long you will be there! Not where you’re from because really, you can’t go back again. Things after are never quite the same.

  2. Home isn’t necessarily where you were born or where you currently reside. To me home is the one place where you are at peace. I am lucky to have found my home.

    On a side note = OMG those beaches are amaze-balls! I need to go there immediately! I imagine I would find myself very peaceful lying on that beach (as long as there is a continuous flow of sangria being delivered to my sunbed).

  3. That is a fantastic video of your other hometown. I have lived in Livermore for over 30 years. I have lived in only one other place (roots are very deep in the S. F. Bay Area) and that was where I was raised. My parents are still in the same house I grew up in. So which is home? Each has its own set of both good and not so good (I’m thinking high school & dissolution) memories. I think memories are the key.

    • Thank you Patrick.! I really thought that sharing the video would give everyone a real live experience. Words are fantastic, but sometimes you need to throw some visuals and sounds into the mix.! Btw – I love the SF Bay area.! I have some great friends out there. And I think you are absolutely right about each having its own set of both good and not so good memories. But boy oh boy without those memories, where would we be πŸ™‚

      • We would be in a whole heap of trouble Rose. Each experience in life has something to teach us if we are only willing to look for the lessons.

  4. Stunning..just stunning. I can see why you would miss it there. I agree though that home is where you are content with those you love and are at peace. If you have that you can go and be anywhere. Travel included. With that you are blessed. Thank you so much for sharing you home away from home. I love that is holds a sacred place in your heart, and I can certainly see why. You have a good weekend as well. -CC

  5. For me home is where ever I live at any given time. I also suspect it can be linked to where your heart is too, so perhaps if you yearn to be elsewhere, you aren’t really home. I will be leaving Madrid the end of January, so I can understand perhaps how you feel. I know I have mixed emotions about leaving a place I have called home for 3 years. My life is about to change once again, and I’m not sure of it will be for the better!!

    • Really, I would just like enough money to be able to live in both πŸ™‚ I could saunter over to playa for a little while, then come back to Chicago. That would be the ultimate.! Good luck with your move.!! After living somewhere for 3 years that you have called home, it will definitely be an adjustment. But I think change is good. It keeps us growing πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, that would be great πŸ™‚ Thanks, I appreciate it and will gladly receive your good luck wishes πŸ™‚ I am expecting upheaval, but change can be good, sometimes even therapeutic. I should be used to change by now in any case, as I have experienced more than my fair share of it! Yet, even so I still feel apprehension or dread of what may come!!

      • Of course that’s natural. All the questions, did I make the right choice. Going through the pro/con list again.! Then there’s the insanity of getting ready for a move physically let alone emotionally and mentally. Huge changes always bring about apprehension. “You will be fine” as one of my close friends always says πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear about the new experiences with your move.!!

Leave a Reply

