spring forward….and never fall back…

courtesy of niemanlab.org

courtesy of niemanlab.org

I’ve always enjoyed traveling.! I love airports, passports, new cities, new cuisines, and meeting old friends and new ones.! However, one of the aspects of travel I hate is the time change. I know it’s necessary. Clearly, when I’m having breakfast in Chicago, people on the other side of the world don’t want to be having breakfast (unless that’s their thing) during the evening. But traveling can definitely leave one feeling out of sorts.! I remember one particular trip to Florence where my brother and I made the crucial mistake of arriving to our hotel and taking a nap before seeing the magnificent pieces of artwork at the Uffizi.!! When we tried to rouse my brother’s fiancee (now wife), she promptly screamed, “I don’t care about the artwork, I want to sleep.!!” And there you have it, time matters. In more ways than just wasting it. One of the many reasons, I loved Playa del Carmen was that there was no time change. Chicago and Playa del Carmen were on the same time zone.! It was fabulous.! I was never discombobulated. I was never tired when I arrived. I was always ready to hit the beach πŸ™‚

courtesy of supracurriculum.nl

courtesy of supracurriculum.nl

There were only two weeks during the year when Playa and I were not in sync because Chicago (the U.S.) changed their clocks in the spring and fall one week ahead of Playa del Carmen (Mexico). But that was a small price to pay.! Then recently, I heard that Playa del Carmen was going to align itself with the East Coast instead of the Central Zone.!! I have to admit I had a crisis moment.! They couldn’t take that away from me too.! I already wasn’t living in Playa anymore, this just seemed like more hogwash to drive us apart. I was finally able to read the news report today. And it’s not as awful as I had imagined. Somewhat similar to Y2K and the Mayan Apocalypse. But it wasn’t a bed of roses either. Apparently, Playa del Carmen or the entire state of Quintana Roo will remain on Daylight Savings Time. Which means for seven months (from the beginning of April until the end of October) Playa del Carmen will remain aligned with the Central Zone. Well, more or less, remember that one week at the beginning and end which doesn’t correlate.? But during the other five months or basically winter, Playa del Carmen will be aligned with the East Coast. No me gusta.! I feel like Persephone, you know the one who ate half of a pomegranate while in the underworld with Hades.! She had to live with Hades for six months of the year and was only able to see her mother the other six months. I mean I guess it’s better than being with Hades the whole time. Oh well… I guess I will survive. I will also have to spring forward and not fall back again. So in celebration of this new time change, I’m going on a trip. I’m gonna start on the west coast and end up on the east coast before I return back to Chicago πŸ™‚ I apologize for the next week if my posts are not timely.! I’m about to go travel…

4 thoughts on “spring forward….and never fall back…

  1. I’ve been trying to wake up early and earlier here on the West Coast to adjust to the time difference when we get there. We’ll see if it works. Doubtful. I’m so glad you’ll be going with me on my journey. I can’t think of a better way to start my new life!

    • I’ve tried to do that before also when I’ve traveled – it usually doesn’t work for me. Hopefully, you will be luckier πŸ™‚ I’m super glad to be going with you on your journey too.! Can’t wait to see you πŸ™‚

  2. I hear you! I just got back from Europe and there’s a nine hour difference between Prague and San Francisco. I thought I successfully got over my jet lag only to get hit with what seemed like a second wave of either waking up at 4.15 am or being unable to get up at 7 am. Nevertheless when I flew to Cancun, I could care less about the 3 hour time difference – turns out that those powdery beaches are the best remedy to cure jet lags with! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

