walmart, hot dogs, and home or my quest for the holy grail

courtesy of tweakyourbiz.com

courtesy of tweakyourbiz.com

I was never a huge fan of Walmart when I lived in the states. I have always been a bigger groupie of Target which I first discovered while living in L.A. in my early twenties. Or like a really, really, long time ago πŸ™‚ Target got a hold of my loyalty first and kept me just happy enough that the hold never loosened.

However, when I moved to Mexico, there were no Targets. But, there were Walmarts. In fact, Playa del Carmen had three Walmarts.!! Go figure. So whenever I felt homesick, I went to Walmart. It was eerily familiar to the Walmarts in the states minus the signs in Spanish. And it comforted me in a way that going to the local businesses in playa did not. Oftentimes, I would meet my friend C., the beauty contest winner, and we would eat hot dogs at Walmart.! Yes, hot dogs πŸ™‚ And I felt like I was home.

courtesy of travelyucatan.com

courtesy of travelyucatan.com

But I was not really home even though I had a job and good friends in Mexico. My job was fun, but it was not in my field nor was it commensurate with my experience and my degree. A challenging and engaging job eluded me in Mexico; as did a real home. I lived in six different apartments during my time in Mexico.! And truthfully, only the first and last ones came the closest to feeling like a home. But even in both of those apartments, I only stayed six months. Moving around was the new normal.

When I returned to Chicago two years ago, I struggled with finding a job and a home. My apartment came first. I have now been living in my place for a year.! A whole year with my belongings πŸ™‚ I can’t tell you how amazing that feels.!! But the job still eluded me. Sure I had temporary jobs and jobs that paid the bills, but not THE job. You know, the holy grail job – the job that satisfies you.! That quest eluded me for two whole years dear reader.!

courtesy of greatestamericanhotdogs.com

courtesy of greatestamericanhotdogs.com

But this week, after much interviewing and hours of networking combined with blood, sweat, and tears – I got a job offer.!! But not just any job offer – THE job offer.!! It’s as if the universe conspired and angels handcrafted my perfect fit job complete with perks and benefits.!! I couldn’t be more happier πŸ˜€ I couldn’t be more in shock.!! I couldn’t be more relieved. Of course, I accepted the job offer.!

Honestly, if I had known when I stepped off that plane two years ago that it would take me that long to get this job – I might have stayed on the plane. If I had known what suffering and disappointment awaited me – I might have turned back around and returned to Mexico. But I’m glad I didn’t. I’m proud of myself for sticking to my quest and finding my holy grail. Victory tastes so much sweeter now. And home finally feels like home.

22 thoughts on “walmart, hot dogs, and home or my quest for the holy grail

  1. Wow! I’m happy you found the job you have been seeking Rose. No doubt you will make some new friends among your new co-workers. Being patient in the search for a job, or solution to a problem, is never an easy task. Perseverance pays off. Patrick

    • Thank you Patrick.! It has been a long haul. I’m super lucky as I’ve been doing temporary contract work for this company the last year that I already have some new friends among the co-workers.!! Thank you for your kind words and blog support.!!!
      ~Rose

  2. Reblogged this on howdoyousaytacoinspanish and commented:

    The other day I mentioned what an important date February 17th seems to be in my life. So I reposted my return trip home blog. Today, I want to revisit a year ago when I got my job offer.! And yes, I’m still there πŸ™‚

  3. It is these types of experiences that I liken to fermentation. We are not unlike wine, with our travails serving as the proverbial yeast, changing us for the better! It makes me more thankful for the end product!

Leave a Reply

