sometimes paradise bites…

courtesy of

courtesy of OECD (2015)

I promised when I first started this blog that I would talk about the good, the bad, and the ugly of living in Mexico. Most of the time, I forget to talk about the ugly because I’m usually a positive person and I like to leave bad memories, bad incidents, and bad people in the past. But recently one of my friends who still lives in Mexico posted the above statistics on minimum wage.

While, one of the reasons I left Mexico was to be closer to my family especially my father. He is getting on in years and has been sick before. And as recent events have shown with my dad, I’m really glad I was close by during his most recent illness.

But I also left Mexico because I couldn’t make enough money. For a foreigner, I had a decent salary. I made about $1,000 USD plus tips. But I didn’t make enough to save. After paying the rent, groceries, utilities, transportation to work…sometimes I made enough to buy shoes or a purse for work use. But that’s about it. I never made enough to save. And that’s important because emergencies happen or you need a plane ticket to go home 🙂

It makes me sad to see that many residents of Mexico still do not not make enough to enjoy a secure living. Of course, there are people in Mexico who make good money. But so many more, especially in the service industry do not. And that includes police officers as well. According to Huffington Report – “a report by the government’s National Public Safety System says the average wage for state police in Mexico is 9,250 pesos, which is equal to about $670 per month or about $8,000 annually.” (Sep 25, 2011)

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/09/25/mexican-police-still-earn-low-wages-_n_980299.html

I doubt wages have gone up much since 2011. Anyways, there you have it. I know money can’t buy happiness.! Don’t I know it.! But I also know money erases a lot of stress, helps pay doctor’s bills, helps you buy fresh food, and gives you peace of mind. Here’s wishing for peace of mind for everyone 🙂 And back to ‘the good’ posts with Corona in the next blog post.!

4 thoughts on “sometimes paradise bites…

  1. Hey Rose!
    I really enjoyed this post. I lived in Mexico for 5 years and while in the majority of Mexico making that amount of money can be completely livable, it doesn’t allow people to save reasonably. Its interesting to see because in the United States you need a decent amount of more money to be at that level, and friends of mine from Mexico would save upwards of a decade just to visit the States for a couple weeks. But it goes to show that the average living cost is everything, not how much you make.
    I’ve really enjoyed your writing, and I look forward to reading more!
    Cheers!
    James

    • Hello James.! Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Yes, you’re absolutely right. I lived decently. I had a nice apartment a few blocks from the beach. I could go out with friends. But trying to save money to go on a trip took many many years. I had to borrow money for a plane ticket to return back to the states. Kinda depressing.

      And yes, the average cost of living is everything.! The other element that proved difficult was I still had American debts while living in Mexico (i.e. credit cards, student loans,etc) and trying to pay those on a Mexican salary was next to impossible.!!

      Again thanks for stopping by 🙂 Saludos.!!

      ~Rose

  2. I absolutely agree with you. Money doesn’t buy happiness, but it helps to cope with emergencies or just to give ourselves a little treat! I live in Argentina, born and raised here, and it has always been a problem with no apparent solution for the time being (and since I can keep a record). And that’s not all. Getting a job is almost impossible nowadays.
    But well, it is what it is. Let’s hope Latin Americans can get a better economic life in the near future! 🙂
    Keep on writing!
    Mila

    • Yes…let’s hope that all Latin Americans can get a better economic future.!! Everyone deserves economic security.

      I have always wanted to go to Argentina.! What a beautiful and history rich land. Thank you for stopping by 🙂 Ciao for now.

      ~Rose

Leave a Reply

