find your beach take 17

courtesy of corona.com

courtesy of corona.com

Feliz lunes.!! Happy Monday.!! VolvΓ­.! I’m back.! Since, I started writing this blog a little over 2 years ago, I have never felt the need to take a break. Until now… Dealing with my father’s sudden and very serious illness while being his personal assistant, advocate, and support; working; and let’s not forget trying to get some sleep required a give somewhere else. And unfortunately, dear readers, the give became my blog. So please forgive my three week absence, but this girl needed a break. Luckily for all of us, the wheel of life turns and this life is looking up a little bit lately.!

My father has been breathing on his own for almost four weeks now.!! And three weeks ago, after 2 whole months, I was finally able to speak to my dad.!! I can’t even begin to describe the elation I felt hearing his voice and realizing that even though he was still a little confused regarding what had happened, he knew who I was and spoke my name.!! There had been some worry that he might have suffered some memory loss. And as we know, the brain is a wondrous and complicated beast. How did I know whether he would forget me, but remember goulash. Or forget me and remember the Bulls. It could happen, he really loves food and the Bulls πŸ™‚ So most assuredly a moment that at once made me scream in joy and weep with relief. My dad is in rehab now for the last part of his recovery. While the timeline is moving at a glacial pace, I remind myself it is moving.

Also, the summer is finally upon us in Chicago. The weather of late has been superb – sunny skies, breezes, and a little rain to cool us off as needed. I’ve been able to spend some time with close friends and relax. And really isn’t that what life is about – spending time with loved ones – eating, drinking, and sharing. This week’s much overdue Corona commercial celebrates sharing with good friends, old and new, while enjoying good food and drink.! Enjoy.!! Y salud.!!!

23 thoughts on “find your beach take 17

  1. Welcome back! And thanks for the update on your dad. Continued best wishes for him. Take care and be strong.

    (My mom’s not as lucky but we’re making the most out of our time with her. We’re finding peace in her journey.)

    • Thank you.! It’s nice to be back πŸ™‚ And thank you for your kind words regarding my dad πŸ™‚

      I am so sorry to hear your mom is not doing well. Stay strong my friend.! Take care. Cuidate.

  2. Figured something serious was going on with you dad. Glad to hear he is improving. Being a caregiver is exhausting even if one is just advocating. Sounds like you have a good support team in place which is key to taking care of yourself. Hope your father continues to improve.

  3. I hope your father gets better every day. I remember right about this time last year I was Chicago. Love that city.

    • I think Chicago is best July to October.!! July and August are pretty warm but there are so many festivals in town. Plus Lake Michigan is spectacular. September and October are less warm, but still just as much fun πŸ™‚

  4. Welcome back. I am glad your dad is on the mend. Family means everything and even though we missed you dad’s always come first (well in my eyes anyway). Looking forward to your next post.

    • Thank you Jane.! I’m so glad too πŸ™‚ Loved ones do mean everything. But I’m happy to be back to blogging too – my mind was a whirl with constant ideas but the body had no energy to reciprocate.! Hahaha..

Leave a Reply

