que milagro tres..!!

My friend K.

My friend K.

After my wonderful trip to Cozumel, I was ready to see more friends and complete the rest of my errands. The next morning after my delicious coffee at Starbucks Playa Tides, I went to see my good friend K.!! What can I tell you about K. except that she is funny, crazy, and amazing.!! Actually, she reminds me a little bit of myself 🙂 We spent many a night causing some type of ruckus when I lived in Playa.!! K. knows almost everyone in Playa del Carmen.! So if you need something, she is your girl. Moreover, she is the quintessential flirt, but only loves one man – my friend A.!

my friend K. with her daughter

my friend K. with her daughter

The first day I saw her, we must have laughed, gossiped, and talked for hours.!! My voice was almost gone the next day.! We had so much catching up to do – who was dating who, who was working where.!! Mucho chisme.!!! We spent hours together.! Finally, at 3pm, we went to pick up her oldest daughter, N., from school. N. had no idea I was visiting. By the way, N. loves me and I love her.! The surprise on her face upon seeing me coupled with the running and screaming culminating in a huge hug was completely worth picking her up from school. She was attached to me for the rest of the day. She wouldn’t leave my side and I wouldn’t have had it any other way. After a full day spent talking, I finally called it a night. Strolling to my room, I had the biggest smile on my face. It was good to be back 🙂

Me and my friend A.

Me and my friend A.

The next morning I decided that after several days of visiting and running errands, I needed time to catch up on my writing. And I knew just the spot.! My friend A., K.’s husband, works at Wicky’s. Wicky’s is an American themed restaurant which is nice if you are hankering for some good food that reminds you of home. But it’s claim to fame is it’s beachfront location.! Plus, it is one of the few restaurants with air conditioning in Playa. And for me, my friend A. works there.! So it was a complete win-win. I was able to sit and write in the restaurant for hours with wi-fi, an outlet, air conditioning, a gorgeous view, good food, and talk to A.!! Pretty perfect.!

My friend C. and me at Tok's

My friend C. and me at Tok’s

After finishing my writing and catching up on some correspondence, I bid Wicky’s and A. “hasta luego“. It was time to see C. again. We met at Tok’s restaurant in the mall at Plaza las Americas. Tok’s is a family dining restaurant similar to Denny’s or IHOP in the states.! We started out with some great coffee – what can I say I love coffee.!! As usual, C. and I talked about many philosophical ideas – she is very interested in Kaballah. In fact, she was very happy because I had brought her some red string from the Kaballah Center in Chicago.

sopa de tortilla or tortilla soup

sopa de tortilla or tortilla soup

When the waitress came back around, I was going to go with the pie. However, in the interim, I had noticed the tortilla soup.! What can I say, not only am I weak for great soup. But I love any type of food you can build on your own! I am sure there are people who would suggest that it’s the control freak in me who wants to control exactly the amount of this ingredient and that ingredient. However, I would like to think that it is my creative side just expressing its ability to be unique. As in, no two tortilla soups are exactly identical because I like cream and extra cheese while you prefer extra peppers.!!

the ingredients for a great soup

the ingredients for a great soup

While we were enjoying our soups, C. also showed me photos and newspaper clippings from her recent contest. In August, there had been a beauty pageant for the Abuelita y Abuelito Quintana Roo 2013 or Grandmother and Grandfather of Quintana Roo 2013. C. entered the contest, as she is a grandmother. C. is my friend who is the former dancer so she is still in exquisite shape and is a timeless beauty. Needless to say, C. won the contest.!! She was thrilled to pieces.!! As was her entire family in Quintana Roo and Mexico City and of course her friends.!! I even got to see her crowns when I stopped by her house the next day.!! Wow.!! I have never known a beauty pageant winner before 🙂

My friend C. after she won the contest

My friend C. after she won the contest

Afterwards, I wished C. a good night and a goodbye. I had only one more day and night left in Playa. There were still several errands I needed to finish. And some more goodbyes I needed to make. I didn’t want to make promises I couldn’t keep so we said our goodbyes at the taxi stand. She got into a taxi taking her to the suburbs of Playa and I took one into centro. As I had been doing almost every night once I got to my hotel room, I looked up at the nighttime sky.! Where are all these stars in Chicago I wondered aloud.?! Bittersweet feelings washed over me as I contemplated how wonderful my trip had been so far and how fast it was coming to an end. Que milagro cuatro to follow…

Leave a Reply

