somewhere over the rainbow…

rainbow at mamita's beach club

rainbow at mamita’s beach club

“Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
There’s a land that I heard of once in a lullaby
Somewhere over the rainbow, Skies are blue,
And the dreams that you dare to dream, really do come true…”

So goes the Judy Garland song…. And lately I have been humming that song more and more. I’m sure it has something to do with the frigid Chicago temperatures. They make me blue. They make me cold. They make me dream of warmer climes. Of course, they make me think of Mexico….

cozumel at the end of the rainbow

cozumel at the end of the rainbow

Seeing a rainbow has always been a wonderful treat for me.! At once, a beautiful omen and an amazing phenomenon.! Living in Chicago, I saw a handful growing up. However, living in Playa del Carmen, I saw triple, no quadruple, that amount.!! In Spanish, a rainbow is called arcoiris. The ones at dawn are called arcoiris al amanecer.

I would see rainbows on my drive to work. I would see them at the beach. Living in an area of the world where there is so much moisture in the air, granted me a rainbow reverie sometimes almost weekly.! At times, I would wonder did I deserve such visual eye candy on a consistent basis.!?! Eventually, I decided I did deserve it 🙂

rainbow over the caribbean

rainbow over the caribbean

the other half

the other half

According to wikipedia, “a rainbow is an optical and meteorological phenomenon that is caused by both reflection and refraction of light in water droplets in the Earth’s atmosphere, resulting in a spectrum of light appearing in the sky. It takes the form of a multicoloured arc. Rainbows caused by sunlight always appear in the section of sky directly opposite the sun.”

This explains the omnipresence of rainbows in the Riviera Maya. If it’s not raining, the sun is shining brightly. What a wonderful place to find yourself so thoroughly entrenched with beauty and gorgeous apparitions.! I was very blessed to see so many rainbows during my time in Mexico. They never failed to make me smile.! And hope.! And think magical thoughts.!

amanecer arcoiris

arcoiris al amanecer

dawn rainbow

rainbow at dawn

As you know this past month, I have been thinking of sunsets in order to survive the unseemly cold in Chicago. brrrr….. However, I have also been thinking about rainbows. Really anything and everything that has nothing to do with the cold.!! It’s all I have to hold onto until more sublime temperatures find their way to Chicago. Until then, I am going to stare at these photos and listen to Judy.

2 thoughts on “somewhere over the rainbow…

Leave a Reply

